Blue shores of silence

1st December 2023 comes in cold and bright and blue. This is one of the mighty old trees in the graveyard across the road from me in Rothwell, south Leeds, keeping watch over the dead, and over the living too! It’s finally dropped its leaves – shedding many of them into my back yard, and providing welcome leaf mould for my own much smaller – and younger – trees in pots. And so the circle turns.

December gets busy and festive, as we fight off the dark with twinkly lights and feverish celebrations. But I like what lies beneath this, best: nature’s stillness. It’s all fallen to earth and sleeping. And in winter, rest and restore is the T’ai Chi and Reiki way…

“Let us look for secret things, somewhere in the world on the blue shores of silence.” (Pablo Neruda)

Published by

barneybardsley

I am a writer, and T'ai Chi and Reiki practitioner in Leeds, West Yorkshire. Also, a Creative Associate of Leeds Playhouse, and former dramaturg and company member of the Performance Ensemble. In recent years, I have been intensively involved with the theatre, both as writer, teacher and performer. But these days, I am either writing books and articles, or tending my garden, or walking and dreaming in the green.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.